A tale of two sports

The last two months have been bizarre. On the one hand, my bike fitness has gone from strength to strength. On the other hand, my run fitness has completely dissolved!

The catalyst for this seven weeks ago, when I tore my calf (again!). I still can’t run and whenever I’ve tried, the calf gets stroppy, FAST! But I’ve been able to ride my bike. Oddly, I don’t even feel my calf during, or after, steep hilly rides.

So I can ride, and I’ve just ridden more and more, to beat the despair of not being able to run. I’ve taken some of my own advice and ride with the local tri club for two bunch rides a week. And then I throw in a mountain bike ride (or 3!). My power numbers are slowly rising, and I’m enjoying myself. You bewdy!

Fitness snapshot

I’m well ahead of my stated Noosa bike CTL goal of 35. At last check it’s up to 41 and the race is still three weeks away.

But I still can’t run. Today the physio said I need yet another week off running. This calf injury is proving stubborn! I’ll be lucky to be running at all in three weeks. And I will not turn up to the race unless I can run.

In Jan 2010 I DNFed the Port of Tauranga Half Ironman because I’d torn my calf just before the race. The lead-in to the race was pretty negative knowing I wouldn’t be able to run. I vowed that I’d pull out next time if the same situation arose.

And it has arisen!

So I will pull out. Of Noosa. Sadly.

That leaves my race calendar wide open. I’ve no triathlons locked in, and I think I’ll leave it that way until I can train without niggles for a few months. To be honest, I’ve really been enjoying the training lately. The races are just getting in the way! And, when I can run again, I’ll be even happier!

(and, for now, I’m purposely forgetting the possible Tararua Mountain Run in March!)

This entry was posted in bike, ctl, injury, running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

