Adaptations after months of training

I’ve been training steadily for 11 weeks, averaging 11.5 hours per week. What’s changed? What have I noticed?

  • Early riser. I’m automatically getting up at 5-5:30am on my Tues, Thu and Sundays. No questions asked. No matter what happens the night before. The habit has been formed! W00t!
  • Training routine is set. The wife is starting to know when I’m training, and starting to plan around it. One day, when I’d given all hope of getting my planned ride in, she turned around and told me I’d better get going and get my ride done! Stellar!
  • Plan on the fridge. The weekly printout of the training plan on the fridge is working.
  • Give advance warning. I always give the wife a verbal advance warning of any long or unusual training sessions (even if it is on the fridge already). Often these sessions need to be negotiated around planned family activities.
  • Know when to (give advance warning). I’ve worked out the best times to tell my wife about these long/unusual sessions (and no surprise that it isn’t straight after I come in from a 2 hour ride and it’s fresh in my mind!)
  • Check planned daily TSS. I’m looking at the planned TSS for the day to see how hard the day will be. TSS is starting to correlate to a feeling of effort/fatigue. I know that any day over 200 will be bloody tiring!
  • I am my own training boss! I’ve realised that I am my own training boss. I do my training for myself, because if I don’t do it, it won’t get done! If I miss a session the only person that gets let down is me. I don’t rely on anyone else. I don’t miss sessions because someone else can’t make it. I’ll be there no matter what – you can come along if you like. I feel like I’ve taken my training to the next level. I’m independent, responsible, committed. It’s like, it’s like,…. it’s like I’ve grown-up!
  • What was long seems short. A 2.5 hour ride feels like a short ride. I’m adapting to the volume.
  • Fuel for post-training mayhem. I’m eating a lot at the end of sessions and straight after sessions. I have zero recovery time when I get home – it’s straight into kiddie-care (bottle for the baby, change nappies, get kids fed and dressed and ready for school etc) – so my energy levels have to be right up there as soon as I walk in the door. I’ve worked out how to fuel myself to cope with all of this, with minimal “grumpy daddy” syndrome!
  • PMC is less shiny. I’ve lost the buzz of entering data into WKO+ and looking at the PMC (sob), because I know in advance what my CTL is going to be for the week thanks to my planning tool. I do still get excited to find out what the TSS is for a session though.
  • Mantra. I’ve come to rely heavily on my new mantra: “Iron man. Iron will.” It’s got me through some tough, TOUGH times so far!
  • No iPod on bike. I don’t use my iPod on the bike anymore. I’m not totally sure why. It’s certainly safer without it. And it has been raining a lot which my iPod doesn’t like. And the wires can get in the way and be annoying.
  • Visualise the finish line. This is pretty lame, but at the end of long, hard sessions I’ve been imagining that I’m coming into the Ironman finish chute (never actually seen one of these though!) and trying to use that energy to drive myself home strongly. Hopefully this won’t bite me on the butt, like if I can’t make the race, or if I blow-up and collapse on the finish line! Better to blow-up on it than before it I guess!
Training 24/7
This entry was posted in adaptations, base training, ironman and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

