Time to Race!

Last weekend was the 2010 Noosa Triathlon. The year before I raced the 2009 Noosa Triathlon (and got a PB!). A few weeks later I tore my right calf muscle – I haven’t finished a race since. After a year off, it’s time to get my race groove back on!

A year off racing is pretty significant in my teency weency triathlon career. My first tri was March 2008 at Mooloolaba. I went on to do another 8 races in the next 20 months, and then the injury. Hopefully this will be the start of my next uninterrupted 20 month block! (BTW. Athlinks is a great free resource to store your race results – check them out!)

So, what will I race?

Next weekend, USM host a sub-sprint tri at Robina – 400m swim, 15km bike and 4km run as part of the Gatorade Queensland Tri Series. The start of this race is literally 4km from my door. It’s gotta be done! USM also holds a sprint distance race (750/20/5) at the same venue in January, so I’ll probably do that one too.

hotw.jpeg

For my Ironman NZ training, I want to do Half Ironman simulations at roughly 4 weeks and 8 weeks out from race day. The Hell of the West triathlon in Goondiwindi is approximately Half Ironman distance (2/80/20) and is six weeks out (30 Jan 2011) from IMNZ. It’s an iconic race that is renowned for turning on brutally hot, dry and windy conditions. This is definitely on my todo list! Goondiwindi is a 400km drive inland from the Gold Coast, so hopefully I can round up a few eager souls to come along and share the wheel! Other than that, there are a couple of Bribie races which are possible as well as a USM sprint tri at Raby Bay.

After Ironman NZ there are a few races I’d like to do. Three weeks later is Mooloolaba which I’d love to do but it’s a little too close – I might still have my John Wayne on! Besides, entries for Mooloolaba 2011 have sold out already. There’s also the ITU World Champs in Sydney (Age Group registration opens 1 December 2010). This is the first year they’ll allow Age Groupers to race there! Pretty tempting to swim around the Opera House and then watch the superstars of ITU racing. The Luke Harrop Sprint Tri on the Gold Coast is one that I haven’t done and want to do. I almost did it – my bike spent the night in T1, but alas I never got to the start line. And there is the Byron Bay Triathlon which I’ve done once and would love to do again. And now we can throw in the Challenge Cairns Half Ironman in June into the mix too! It would be nice to see if the Ironman training will get me my sub 5 hours Half Ironman!

So many options! Here’s my race calendar as it stands:

races.jpg

This entry was posted in imnz, races and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

